My Recent Reading List

I have been reading a lot lately. I had previously been on a bout of not being able to get myself through anything and instead found myself doing various other things on my train rides (Peggle on the iPhone, etc.).

I started with “throw away titles” as I like to call them because even though I enjoy them for what they are, they are my versions of trashy novels. They were Mass Effect: Ascension and Darth Bane: Path of Destruction. As I said before, by no means, do I dislike these novels but I would never put their “value” in range with something like The Great Gatsby.

I then picked up Wonder Boys which was the start of my more “serious” reading. Having previously read The Amazing Adventures of Kavalier and Clay, Wonder Boys was exceedingly easy to breeze through having been an earlier piece of work in Micheal Chabon’s career.

Up next was Boomsday, an excellent novel, written by the author of Thank You For Smoking, Christopher Buckley. I had never previously read anything by him and I am pleased to say that I loved the book. It is truly a book for the blogging generation.

To top it all off I picked up a copy of The New Yorker and I have been enjoying that for the past few days.

The next book up that I plan on reading is Empire by Orson Scott Card. I want to read this because there is an upcoming Xbox Live Arcade game called Shadow Complex and its story is loosely based on this particular novel. This is my first excuse to read something by Mr. Scott Card.

Leave a Reply

