State of the Union

I only caught the last 5 minutes (the part where he was talking about the Chilean Miners and how “ordinary” people are the leaders of America) of the State of the Union address (the state of it is “strong” by the way) so the only thoughts I really have on it are the bullet points mentioned on “Barack Obama’s” Twitter account.

  • He challenged America to have 80% of electricity by 2035 come from clean energy sources. I think this is a great and probably completely feasible goal but I also think that it is a little too far in the distance for the common man or woman to think about. I am a backseat advocate of green energy and I believe it is one of  modern popular culture’s greatest contributions to society. It will be nice to see the steps taken to take this challenge further.
  • Obama says that if you want to make the difference in the life of a child – become a teacher. I think that is great. When I was in college to become a teacher – obviously that went a different way – I thought to myself, “Wow, I didn’t know that this many people wanted to be teachers,” and I am sure my cousin Hollie and my friend Harry thought the same thing. There are a lot of people who want to be teachers and sometimes there aren’t enough of those jobs to go around. I’m not entirely sure where I was going with this because to be a teacher is a great aspiration. I think the school systems will have to start making class sizes smaller and start hiring more teachers first. My second thought on this is that if you want to make a difference in the life of a child – be a good parent. Be a good uncle or aunt. Take an interest in a child’s life that you know to be close to you. Teachers are great but it all starts with good parenting.
  • I’m not sure what to say about his idea to finally take care of the problem of illegal immigration other than making it easier to become a U.S. citizen. Fine, you want to punish those who will still want to come into this country and not pay taxes – good, do it – but this country and that risk is obviously still worth it to some. It starts with us and if they want to be a part of this country it shouldn’t take a lifetime.
  • This July, we will begin to bring our troops home from Afghanistan.” This is not an overnight process; those of us with a brain know this to be true but when things don’t happen overnight or even in the first two years of a president’s term we lose hope. Don’t lose hope. Ideally all of our loved ones would be home with us right now and the death toll wouldn’t have reached an astronomical proportion but we do not live in an idealistic world – we live in a realistic one. I am by no means saying that we are resigned to any fate but these decisions were already made and now we can just HOPE for the future.
  • In case you do have an opportunity to serve in the future, don’t worry, you can die for your country despite who you love.

All in all there are a lot of promises here (I am sure there are ones that I have missed) to be kept or broken. Cross your fingers, speak your mind, do what you can, and hope for the best, after all and only then can we, “Win the Future.”

2 thoughts on “State of the Union”

  1. Nathan, I couldn’t agree more with this statement you made – “…if you want to make a difference in the life of a child, be a good parent.” As you know, I work in a high school (and had the delight of meeting you there) and all too often, the kids who have the most problems coping with academics and interacting positively wih their peers and teachers are those who have lacked strong, encouraging guidance at home. As an educator, that is my greatest challenge every day – trying to reach these children. I think you would have been a fine teacher (it’s never too late) and will certainly be a wonderful father if you choose to have children.

    1. Thank you so much. You know, as I like to tell you, you had a great influence on my formative years. I only hope that when I have a child they are blessed enough to have someone like you in their life as I did.

Leave a Reply

