The Longest Book I Ever Read

I am not entirely sure that this is a 100% true statement but I am almost positive that it is: Under The Dome by Stephen King is the longest book I’ve ever read. At 1070 pages it definitely had considerable heft (though I read it on my Kindle 😉 ) but reading was never boring or a chore – in truth I couldn’t put it down.

It still took me three weeks to read it but I wasn’t reading that whole time. The first week I was on vacation and did not read a lot of the book as I tend to read mostly during my commute. I also realized that I wasn’t going to finish this book quickly just reading on my commute and began – toward the last half – reading whenever I could find a free moment.

I finished the last half in less than a week after I had gotten over the flu (of which I still have to cough). When I had the flu I hardly read, except for one day in bed when I finished 10% of the book, I just slept.

Now that I’ve finished, just last night, I’ve had ample time to think about my thoughts on the book and I will end up putting those in my Books Read in 2011 post. Three weeks have definitely set me back so I need to power through some shorter books to catch up to my goal of fifty books (I think I’m about 7 or 8 books behind pace right now).

Leave a Reply

