A ‘Long Time’ Before and a ‘Long Time’ After The Birth of Avery Lee

It has been quite some time since I have written anything. Having started my “new job” a little over a month ago that was the start of the lack of writing. I haven’t been super upset about it, just something there, nagging at the back of my mind. That nagging sounds something like, “I should sit down and write something, anything, but I have no idea what that is going to look like,” so I end up not writing anything. Like I said, I’m okay with it.

I wanted to write about before Avery was born but I feel like the only thing I would have had to say was, “Blah Blah Blah, the anticipation is killing me.” I felt like she was never going to be born, an irrational thought, sure, but those parents out there have to know what I am talking about when it came to their first kid. I tried to picture how she would look and things that I would do once she was born. It was tortuous that last week.

Cindy and I had gone to the final Movielife show and the whole show all I could think was, “Wouldn’t it be great if Cindy went into labor?” Avery held out through the show and through the hurricane and Cindy’s labor started on her due date, August 29th. We thought that her due date would come and go and we would be sad that nothing had happened.

Alas, minor labor started that day and around midnight August 30th Cindy went into active labor. It still felt as though Avery couldn’t come soon enough. We pretty much stayed up through most of those early stages and called the birthing center early in the morning. They told us to come on in and they also told us that we would probably be going home.

Not the case. Cindy was almost halfway there. We went home got her stuff and came back. And then there was a lot more labor. Cindy was a trooper and when she looks back on it she says that she feels like she had a mostly easy labor.

Avery came at 8.20 P.M. on August 30th, weighed 6.5 lbs. and measured 20 inches. A long skinny baby much like her father. It’s still weird to say that – father. It is also weird to think that now my brothers have a niece and my parents have a granddaughter.

It has been a trip so far. I wouldn’t trade it for the world. I have been tired, ecstatic, afraid, happy, frustrated, elated, etc. Avery has made us laugh harder than we have in quite some time and she has also had us pleading with her. It’s been the best time of my life.

My Angel
One thought on “A ‘Long Time’ Before and a ‘Long Time’ After The Birth of Avery Lee”

Leave a Reply

