After the PS4 E3 press conference where they

After the PS4 E3 press conference where they showed off their system, said that they wouldn’t be doing everything Microsoft is doing, and announced a price coming in at $100 below the price of the Xbox One I was made to feel like picking the Xbox One was a poor decision. Why?

It’ll have essentially “always-on” DRM, trade-in restrictions, lending restrictions, etc, etc, blah blah. Okay so how much is that going to affect my daily use. I’d say not at all. I feel bad for those who don’t have a great internet connection and thus won’t be able to have one. Even during Hurricane Sandy I never lost internet. Thank you FIOS for burying all of your lines underground 😉

Because of all the PR though Xbox surely won’t start off as strong as PS4. We’ll see what happens down the road though.

The features are what matters to me. Developers knowing that a Kinect comes in every box is BIG. I look forward to the day when all of my games have subtle game enriching Kinect features. Cloud computing to add to my games fidelity and experience sound amazing as well.

Basically what it comes down to though is that I don’t feel like I need to defend my purchase. I have 8 years of a gamerscore and online personality build-up with Xbox. When I play games elsewhere I just wish they existed on my Xbox. Whenever the choice is there I’ll always pick the Xbox version. Regardless of exclusivity of DLC or whatever. The only time in recent memory I bought a PS3 game instead of the Xbox counterpart was with Portal 2. The PS3 version had steamplay and that was enough for me.

We’ll see what the future brings.

Leave a Reply

