Building This Year’s Summer Reading List

I was looking at last year’s summer reading list and I realized that I just finished all the books on it recently. Though I read many books in between finishing the Song of Ice and Fire books I only just made it through them. I should have known it would be like tackling an avalanche with no snow shoes (I have no idea where that analogy came from). So now is time for a new list, hopefully (and not because it was bad, just thick) devoid of any fantasy worlds.

I just finished The Ocean at the End of the Lane by Neil Gaiman and what a wonderful little book that was. I had the pleasure of seeing him speak and read from this wonderful little book this past Tuesday night. I remember getting to the venue (Brooklyn Academy of Music) and seeing how thin the book was and being a little disappointed at how short it was. I like to be lost in his worlds for a long time. But like I said, wonderful little book and its length just means that I can read it over and over. It is a perfect, if just a little sad, little story.

Anyway, THE LIST:

The Beautiful and Damned (F. Scott Fitzgerald): been meaning to read this one for a while now and it is about time to get to it

11/22/63  (Stephen King): I think I picked this up for my Kindle this past Christmas and it seem like a good summer book

Joyland (Stephen King): I’ve been waiting for this one to come out since it has been talked about for the past year. Also seems like a good summer book.

Neverwhere (Neil Gaiman)

The Graveyard Book (Neil Gaiman)

This Book is Full of Spiders (David Wong)

A Hologram for the King (Dave Eggers): wanted to read this one since it was on the NYT best books of 2012 list.

That’s all I have for now though I’m sure I’ll add more…

 

Leave a Reply

