Expirations

My monthly metrocard expires on 04.20.2014 – Cindy’s due date – and so does being the parent of only one child. I remember thinking about these markers when Avery’s birth date was approaching.

We use water filters and we had just bought a fresh pack of three. I believe we were only a few months out from Avery’s birth and I thought, “By the time we are through with these filters Avery will be here”. I also remember making it those filters rather quickly and she still wasn’t here. I couldn’t wait to be a father.

Now we are on the cusp of baby number two and time is slowing down again. Maybe I should be savoring this time (and we are definitely using this time to do things with Avery to make her feel extra special) but I’m not at all scared/worried/distraught about getting no sleep again (or a rather segmented form of sleep) even though expectation says otherwise.

That day will come soon enough and I’ll be the father of two beautiful girls. Who could ask for more?

Leave a Reply

