Ten Thousand Hours (2)

The second day (or what should be the fourth) into this little project and I’m already building up lofty expectations and goals of what something like this could accomplish. 365 posts in a year is insane for me; maybe it is insane for anyone who isn’t a journalist or a blogger as a profession. Nothing works better for a skill better than practice. What will I learn over this next year? About myself? My writing? Maybe even others?

I don’t consider myself an excellent writer but I think that my potential is there. For anyone that knows me, follows me, etc. they know that my ultimate aspiration is to do this as a profession. To be published. To be able to share my stories with the world. When I am in the thick of writing it is a joyous and liberating process and when I am failing it feels as though I am doing a disservice to myself.

But the thought of having 110 posts on this blog by the time I’m thirty is breathtaking. Quite literally. That will be over 50 percent of the amount of posts I’ve made over the lifetime of this blog.

Here is a quote from Malcolm Gladwell’s Outliers (if you listen to Macklemore he mentions this as well in his aptly titled ten thousand hours):

“In fact, researchers have settled on what they believe is the magic number for true expertise: ten thousand hours.” 

Here is a little math. If I average writing 30 minutes a day or 30 minutes for each blog post that is 182 hours spent writing this year alone. It doesn’t make necessarily make a dent in the idea that it takes 10,000 hours to be a master of your craft but add that to all of the miscellaneous minutes of writing I’ve accumulated since at least high school and I have to have something, right?

As the year goes on I hope that the words, at the very least, flow more freely and that you, my readers, get to see something truly special; I’m holding nothing back. Anything and everything that I write this year will be yours to read.

Leave a Reply

