Branding (36)

Always loved Coke's branding. #mcr

A post shared by Nate Kowal (@etanlawok) on

I didn’t really have a post idea for this morning; I do want to get to some fiction later but alas I don’t have an idea for that either. This picture comes from a wooden rack that housed bottles of Mexican Coke. Like it says in the caption, I’ve always loved Coke’s branding. Probably more than I ever loved Coke.

Growing up we were a Pepsi household and as a teenager I liked Mountain Dew (another part of the Pepsi brand). I also liked Doritos (and still do) and if you didn’t know Frito-Lay is also under the same banner of PepsiCo. I had no reason to waver. Except that as I got older I lost my taste for the sweetness of Pepsi products.

All of Coke’s products have a better bite to them and even as a Pepsi fan I still liked the Coke branding. As I got older still I lost my taste for all kinds of sugary beverages. Now if I drink anything under the soda banner it is Coke Zero though that is quite infrequent as well. Still, branding. I love branding. Marketing is made to cater to my personality.

Coke Zero made it into one of my favorite movies: Scott Pilgrim vs The World. They own my favorite water: Smart Water (well other than the water that I drink most often that comes out of our Pur filter).

It might be a bad thing, and I’m okay with it, but I’m a materialistic person; I’m Coke’s target consumer. It’s just too bad for them that I don’t have the sweet tooth I once had. I can still appreciate their ads, marketing and design though.

When I'm around you, I kind of feel like I'm on drugs. Not that I do drugs. Unless you do drugs, in which case I do them all the time. All of them.

Leave a Reply

