My Diet Over The Past Ten Years (56)

I think learning how and what to eat is a learning process that we go through our entire lives.

There is always the newest discovery on the news that usually reads like, “What food you’ve been eating your whole life that might slowly be killing you; find out at 10.” And you are always like, “Are you kidding me? You want me to stay up until ten to find out that the broccoli from the supermarket might have some secret cancerous pathogen?”

No thanks. Also what I wrote there was just a made up example. I don’t think you need to worry about your broccoli. It always sounds that dire. Same thing on the internet. Click bait reads, “These tips will help you live at least 10 years longer.” And who doesn’t want to do that? So you read it and it says the same thing you’ve read anywhere for your entire life: Diet, exercise, etc.

So I’ve been vegetarian (and I still always have issues spelling the word) for 10+ years. I have no plans on quitting and for the most part I don’t even think about it. It is something in my life that just is. But as I get older and look more into food science I find myself changing little things here and there.

Most recently I’ve been trying to buy more products, for myself and the kids, that do not have GMOs in them. Some are bad for you, some may not be, but in the end I’ve just accepted the fact that shouldn’t I just be eating something that comes naturally from this earth? I mean I think that’s why I’m vegetarian.

I cut out High Fructose Corn Syrup a while ago because it is essentially just pouring calories into your body with no positive side. I found out that one of the biggest offenders out there was bread. Why do I need HFCS in breads? They even stick it in a lot of whole wheat breads.

Maybe we’re all better off spending more money at Trader Joe’s or Whole Foods. Or not. I think we just need to pay attention to what we put in our bodies. We, after all, have the power of choice.

What got me on this thread was The Omnivores Dilemma by Michael Pollan. I hope I still want to eat food after I’ve finished the book.

Leave a Reply

