Chapter 1 Part 3 (85)

It’s a miracle my parents take me home at all. I think if they weren’t required I’d live here year round without so much as a visit. During winter break I’m left here with few others. The parents are off on their annual cruise to some place warmer than here. But unless you have some of those aforementioned superpowers you wouldn’t know that “here” is Rochester, New York. It basically snows 6 months out of the year and the only warm months are July and August.

Home is in Walden, New York. Another boring place with the most exciting thing that could possibly happen is that someone gets arrested for selling a bottle of water on the street. Don’t believe me? Look it up. But I digress, there was actually a byline in the local newspaper that read, “Fire Dept. Rescues Tabby from Tree.” Seriously? It is like living a television episode of a perfect town.

And yet my parents still like to live on the fringes of society, not wanting to be “those” people: the status quo. Me. I think they live a frugal life just so that they can be seen riding their Mercedes around town. How’s that for status quo? In a town where no one else has one it sure seems like they are trying to make a statement.

Leave a Reply

