Chapter 7 Part 2 (114)

Friday comes along and to say I’ve packed for the occasion is an understatement. My school trunk is packed – mostly with books (so much so that I had to struggle to squeeze an old inherited leather toiletry bag – from my grandfather) in between a copy of This Side of Paradise and The Amazing Adventures of Kavalier and Clay) – as well as a newly purchased suitcase full of newly purchased clothes (that I would normally have to wait for the new school year to start to get). I wanted to pack more (books) but father said it was too much for a New York City apartment guest room.

That evening father packed my suitcase and trunk into the car closing it with a firm “thunk”. Father lets me know that the trip should take about an hour and half – maybe two hours with traffic – and I decide that I’ll sleep to make it go by quicker. I can’t wait.

Leave a Reply

