Chapter 9 Part 4 (139)

I’m no longer on the bench, I’m in a tree. It’s still raining. Below me lays a small boy in a red t-shirt and blue jeans. His eyes are closed and his face is contorted into a look of confusion.

Down the path a ways from where the boy lies on the bench sprouts the tops of a few umbrellas and dogs on leashes coming from under them. It looks as though umbrellas are walking dogs. A man clad in a dark blue poncho is walking down the path toward the boy.

Below me his face changes to a look of surprise. A radiating heat is beating down on me; the sun poking through the clouds.

A ray of sunshine that has fought desperately through clouds and branches strikes the boys face. Though his eyes are still closed, his face still squints. I can no longer see. My eyes are burning.

I blink a few times and the man with the blue poncho is above me. It’s a police officer.

“Hello,” I say.

He looks surprised at the fact that I spoke before him. Maybe he expected to have to wake me.

“Hey there.”

“Did I do something?”

“Not necessarily. Any particular reason you decided to nap in the rain?”

“I was waiting for the museum to open.”

“It’s been open for quite some time now.”

“What time is it?”

“About 2 o’clock.”

“I better go. Only about three more hours until it closes.”

“Oh I know what time the museum closes but I’m going to need you to come with me.”

“But you said I didn’t do anything wrong?”

“I did say that, however, your aunt and uncle are looking for you.”

“Am I missing?”

“No. You aren’t missing. But you are being worried about and your aunt and uncle didn’t even know you left the house this morning.”

“You promise I’m not in trouble.”

“With the law, no, scout’s honor.”

“The boy scouts are dumb.”

“I’ll drive you home.”

“Do I have a choice?”

“I’d prefer I got you home safely.”

I shrug. He leads the way and I follow.

Leave a Reply

