Chapter 11 Part 1 (155)

The next day I find myself taking my father’s advice – letting my aunt know before I go – to leave the house. Though I only venture as far as across the street into the park it is still nice to be outside even if I’m only doing what I’d be doing inside. Reading.

“Hey.”

“Hey. You dropped your book.”

“Excuse me.”

“Will you please stop shaking me?”

“Were you sleeping?”

“I was. Not anymore.”

“You don’t have to be mean. And anyway I said “were you sleeping” not “are you sleeping.”

“Not anymore.”

“You’re a jerk.”

“Me. You’re the one who woke me.”

“Well sorry I bothered you. Is that how you always act when someone shows you courtesy? You know it’s raining, right?”

“I wouldn’t know.”

“Well, I mean, there is water falling from the sky, that, you know, is generally called rain.”

“Now who’s being mean. And anyone I meant that no one had ever shown me courtesy.”

“It was sarcasm and that can’t be true.”

“Well believe it or not it is.”

“Someone had to be nice to you at some point.”

“Nope.”

“Okay. Whatever. I’m sure your parents beat you.”

“I wish.”

“Oh come on. I wish I hadn’t stopped.”

“At least, if they would have beat me, I would have knew that they cared about something. And you didn’t have to stop. Why did you anyway?”

“I was being nice.”

“Thanks.”

“Well see you later.”

“Will I see you again?”

“I thought you didn’t care.”

“Well considering this is the longest conversation I’ve had with someone other than someone in my family…I don’t know…you’re nice.”

“You might see me again.”

And then she was gone.

Leave a Reply

