The Hitchhiker’s Guide to the Galaxy by Douglas Adams [Book Review] (161)

This, of course, is a book I’ve meant to read for quite some time. I even started reading it once before. This was before I got distracted and put it down. I’m glad I finally put the babel fish into my ear.

The first book is quite short and it just ends (I can see where Adams was told to finish the page he was on and turn it in). I’m not sure I could even say if there was a beginning, middle and end. But boy oh boy is it one of the most quotable books out there I’ve ever had the pleasure of reading.

I think this is something that most people should read, if only, because of its humor. I don’t usually find myself in the habit of laughing out loud at books (though it has been known to happen) but The Guide is so absurd and apt that I would be surprised at those who didn’t find it funny.

I do think though that there are those out there who might be put off by the absurdity and maybe this isn’t for those people.

Leave a Reply

