Fear and Loathing in Las Vegas by Hunter S. Thompson [Book Review]

Fear and Loathing in Las Vegas is something that I’ve wanted to read since watching the movie. I know it should go the other way around but the book intimidated me. I thought, knowing that it was about one continuous drug trip, that I wouldn’t be able to follow it.

I was wrong.

Hunter S. Thompson makes everything crystal clear, well, words-wise. The trip is still a trip. The rationality (or irrationality) of the two main characters and how everyone around them reacts to them is hilarious.

The commentary, on politics/drug culture/etc., that Thompson litters throughout the book are still on point 40 years later.

I look forward to reading more Thompson and if you’ve been afraid to take the plunge then I’m here to tell you to fear not.

Leave a Reply

