Fahrenheit 451 by Ray Bradbury [Book Review]

Keeping with my theme of reading older books I decided to pick up my first Ray Bradbury and what better book to start with than Fahrenheit 451.

My only notion of what the book was about was that it involved book burning. I found the juxtaposition of the concept where the fireman set fires instead of putting them out was genius. While simple in concept I couldn’t have pictured it any other way.

Guy Montag is the fireman. Up until he starts chatting with a curious girl in the neighborhood he is a happy fireman. Then he begins to question everything, the pinnacle being why books are illegal. What could they possibly contain that if found they must all be destroyed under the cover of night?

The organization/government behind everything is faceless which makes it all the more believable and terrifying.

The technology is perfect, yet just vague enough, so much so that all of it could easily transpire today; Bradbury’s science fiction is our science reality.

This may be a potential spoiler but what I found the most arresting was that the outlawing of books was mostly willingly adhered to, and the idea started, by the people.

My only gripe with the book is that it is too short. I would have like to see more of Guy’s life.

Leave a Reply

