The Brief and Wondrous Life of Oscar Wao by Junot Diaz [Book Review]

In continuing with this year’s theme (mostly) – reading books that I’ve meant to read for quite some time – I finally read Oscar Wao. I can say this from the start, I enjoyed This Is How You Lose Her more. I can say with near certainty that what took me out of the experience of Oscar Wao were the footnotes that filled the first 100 pages of the book. I don’t know how it could have been done differently and they were charmingly written (though long-winded) but I had a hard time switching between the two. They helped to describe Dominican history for the non-informed (me).

After that it calms down (with the footnotes) and you are left with a family history and their curse. The story is good though what saved me from quitting this book was Diaz’s hybrid Spanglish writing style.

I can’t help but thinking that I might enjoy this book more upon a second reading but for now this is where we’re at.

Leave a Reply

