Summer Reading

Though it feels like it here in New York – with hot and humid days galore – summer has not yet to begin. My summer reading list, however, has. These books I’ll likely read in the next four or so weeks, with more to be added later.

  1. For The Relief of Unbearable Urges – Nathan Englander // This is Englander’s first collection and the last book of his I have not yet read. I’m already two stories in and enjoying it (though maybe not as much as What We Talk About When We Talk About Anne Frank). Englander flourishes when he is writing what looks to be his preferred method of story telling – short stories.
  2. End of Watch – Stephen King // This is the third part in a trilogy, of which I read the first two books (Mr. Mercedes and Finders Keepers), earlier this year. I’m really looking forward to this one.
  3. Ladavine – Marie NDiaye // This one was recommended to by the author of one of my favorite books this year (Ways to Disappear – Idra Novey).
  4. Modern Lovers – Emma Straub // While I wasn’t in love with Straub’s previous effort, (The Vacationers) there were aspects I did like (her writing style more than her characters), I’m hoping that a novel partially set in a neighborhood near mine will really help bring this novel to life for me.

And that’s it so far. I’d like to add more to this but we’ll see.

Leave a Reply

