Dune by Frank Herbert [Book Review]

I’ve finally added Dune to my nerd lexicon. It wasn’t always considered a must but, on a whim, I decided it was about time.

The story told through this book is basic and easy to follow. The world building that takes place in this kind of novel can sometimes be daunting, as seen in Tolkien’s work, though I found that with Dune it wasn’t bogged down in heavy over-descriptors. Even if a word or an object is thrown around like you should know what it is you’ll find it described to you by a character who is on the outside as much as you are. It’s simple without being heavy-handed or overt – just good writing.

It took me about 5 weeks to get through but I was reading it slowly.

I highly recommend it to anyone who loves sci-fi, has been on the fence about reading it, or anyone that is a fan of a good story. You won’t feel like you need to read every book in the series (though I want to read more); the story is self-contained.

Leave a Reply

