Norse Mythology by Neil Gaiman [Book Review]

Norse MythologyNorse Mythology by Neil Gaiman
My rating: 4 of 5 stars

I picked up this collection as most likely will – I am a fan of Neil Gaiman.

Before reading this collection I only had a passing interest and knowledge of Norse tales. They interested me mostly because their characters and place are mentioned throughout culture: Thor, Valhalla, Odin, Loki. They interested me because they were at the center of American Gods. I looked forward to a retelling of these tales in the voice of Neil Gaiman.

But his style was really nowhere to be found here and, truth be told, I’m glad for it. These were straightforward retellings of classic Norse myths in plain “modern” language. I say modern because I don’t know how foreign the original material is though imagine it wasn’t as clear and concise as what is here.

My particular favorite were the origin stories of all of the Norse gods, giants, etc. Other favorites contained Loki because you love to hate him.

I hope that even some non-Gaiman fans find their way to this collection. It can easily be read in a summer afternoon or two.

I’ll easily read these again and perhaps I’ll even listen to the audiobook and be serenaded by the sultry pipes of Neil himself.

View all my reviews

Leave a Reply

